Author: Jelle {Cryptobot} 0xe8f

Original Post Date: 4 Jul 2022

General Description:

This is part of a 4 part HIP consisting of:

• XEMM triangular arbitrage
  • XEMM automatic rebalancer
  • XEMM Minor Improvements
  • XEMM latency optimization

In the past two months, I have significantly improved the XEMM strategy, which allows me to better manage slippage, run XEMM with triangular arbitrage, significantly scale up campaign exposure, and spend 60% less time on managing my XEMM strategies.

Unfortunately, as I am not a developer, my code is written unprofessionally and is for personal use only. However, as I think all users will benefit from these improvements, I think these ideas should be further developed by a professional programmer. My code can be used as a guide, and I will further assist (if needed) any developer who wants to further develop these ideas.

I have given a brief explanation of the core ideas of these improvements at the end of my AMA: Cross Exchange Market Making with Jelle - YouTube

This proposal will first be published on the commonwealth forum so users can add comments, give their opinions and share ideas. Later, the proposals will be put up for a vote as a HIP.

XEMM Triangular arbitrage:

Hummingbot added the rate oracle feature to XEMM, but currently, this is not working properly as the ‘quote_rate’ is not properly integrated into every function/method. Therefore, running XEMM strategies on pairs with two different quote pairs (e.g. Maker: SHR-BTC, Taker: SHR-USDT) is impossible. A simple solution would be, adding the correct base rates and ‘quote rates’ (from the rate oracle conversion) to the specific functions/methods.

In addition, I have added a function that completes the triangular arbitrage trade by hedging the increased or decreased exposure to the (non USD) quote asset (e.g. BTC/ETH). This idea is explained in my video and in the example below.

Video link: Cross Exchange Market Making with Jelle - YouTube