Advancing the PMM strategy

Author: Alkhalifah 0xa5f

Original Post Date: 8 May 2022

Hi all,

I have been using the pure market making strategy for around 7 months, and there are many features I would like to be added which I think will make the PMM strategy more advanced. In this thread, I will start with proposing two features and I would like to have your opinion.

Before further elaborating in my proposal, I would like to explain how I am currently using the pure market making strategy.

As you know, there are currently way too many crypto projects and tokens being launched on a weekly basis, and I have noticed that many tokens on emerging crypto exchanges have lucrative spreads on the 1 min chart, which I am trying to take advantage of using the pure market making strategy. I will take the crypto dot com exchange and the QI/USDT pair as an example to explain what I am doing and what I would need to be added to the PMM strategy to make it more advanced.

As you can see in the chart of QI/USDT below, there is more than 2% of spread between bids and asks on the 1min chart, this can be taken advantage of using the PMM to make profits and this is what I have been doing. However, I have noticed that those spreads come and go and it is not effective nor efficient keep Hummingbot running for all of the pairs on an emerging exchange because:

1. once the spreads go back to normal levels, the trading fees will eat up all the profits

2. assuming we use min_spread to pause the bots when the spread is back to normal levels, it takes a lot of time, effort, and computer cloud fees to keep hundreds of Hummingbot instances running on all of the pairs on an emerging exchange.

Therefore, I would like to propose the following new feature to be added to the PMM strategy to help traders take advantage of such markets:

1. The option of adding multiple markets through one Hummingbot instance (similar to the liquidity_mining strategy)